Equality PAC to Host Annual National Pride Gala Celebrating 10-Year Anniversary

Washington, DC – Today, Equality PAC will host their annual National Pride Gala at Union Station’s East Hall. This is the organization’s fourth annual gala – and it is the largest it holds each year. 

This year, Equality PAC is also celebrating its 10-year anniversary. During the event, Equality PAC will honor LGBTQ allies actors Ted Danson and Mary Steenburgen with the Nancy Pelosi Equality Ally Award. Through this gathering, Equality PAC has raised more than $527,000. 

“This year, we are excited to come together during Pride Month to host our fourth ever annual National Pride Gala to recommit to our unfinished work, prepare for the many fights that are in front of us, and refocus our goals on the path ahead as we work together to achieve full equality,” said Equality PAC Co-Chairs Ranking Member Mark Takano (D-CA) and Congressman Ritchie Torres (D-NY). “The fact is part of the power of Pride is visibility. During the 2024 election cycle, we have the chance to elect up to 15 LGBTQ Members of Congress from districts across the nation that will make history and stand up for our community. Pride Month is a time to celebrate, but it is also a time to support pro-equality activism that moves LGBTQ Americans forward. Right now, extremists are working around the clock to demonize us through anti-LGBTQ laws, bills, and hate. Our National Pride Gala allows us to seize this moment to say that we are here, and we are not going anywhere. We want to thank all our supporters and honored guests for the faith and trust that you have put into Equality PAC and our mission to elect and re-elect more LGBTQ representatives and allies that will give us the Pro-Equality Majorities we need to protect LGBTQ Americans and make the Equality Act the law of the land. We look forward to celebrating Pride Month tonight and showcasing the best our community has to offer.” 

Special guests include House Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries, House Democratic Whip Katherine Clark, Speaker Emerita Nancy Pelosi, House Democratic Caucus Vice Chair Ted Lieu, Assistant Democratic Leader Joe Neguse, RuPaul Drag Race superstar Nina West, and more than 60 Members of the House Democratic Caucus. 

Additional guests include Equality PAC-endorsed candidates State Senator Sarah McBride of Delaware, State Representative Julie Johnson of Texas, and State Senator Emily Randall of Washington.  

Equality PAC’s mission is simple: to elect more LGBTQ+ persons to Congress — individuals who will have a seat at the table, impact the debate, and humanize the LGBTQ community’s concerns. All the funds we raise are used to elect and re-elect LGBTQ persons to Congress and secondarily support strong LGBTQ community allies who will proudly and unapologetically stand with us in the fight to pass the Equality Act and equal protection under our nation’s laws. 

In the short time that Equality PAC has existed, Equality PAC has played an unmatched role in making history for the LGBTQ community, electing LGBTQ leaders at the federal level such as current House Members Sharice Davis (Kansas); Ritchie Torres (New York); Becca Balint (Vermont); Robert Garcia (California); Eric Sorensen (Illinois); Angie Craig (Minnesota); and Chris Pappas (New Hampshire), as well as former House Member Mondaire Jones (New York). Equality PAC has been instrumental in winning key races that have determined control of Congress because we know that without Pro-Equality Majorities, the progress our community has made and the civil rights and equal protections we have fought so hard for, and are still fighting for every day, remain in jeopardy.  


If you've saved your information with ActBlue Express, your donation will go through immediately.