Equality PAC Statement on Trump Victory

Washington, DC – Equality PAC, a political action committee formed by leaders of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus, today issued a statement on the victory of Donald Trump as the next President of the United States.

“We congratulate President-elect Trump on his victory,” said Equality PAC Managing Director Roddy Flynn. “Though we remain deeply concerned about Mr. Trump’s endorsement of anti-LGBT legislation like the First Amendment Defense Act, we look forward to educating Mr. Trump and his team on the importance of advancing LGBT equality. We also thank Secretary Clinton for running a campaign that consistently and passionately elevated the discourse on LGBT issues. We know that she will continue to fight for us in all of her future work.”

Please contact Equality PAC at 202-656-3181 or [email protected] with press inquiries.

The purpose of Equality PAC is to work to bring nearer the full legal and societal equality of LGBT persons and creating a legislative environment that is conducive to that goal. The Board of Directors includes Co-Chairs Representatives Jared Polis (D-CO) and Mark Takano (D-CA), who are also Co-Chairs of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus; and Board Members Representative David Cicilline (D-RI),also an LGBT Equality Caucus Co-Chair; Representative Dan Kildee (D-MI), a Vice-Chair of the Caucus; and Caucus members Representatives Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Elizabeth Esty (D-CT), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Joseph Kennedy, III (D-MA), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Grace Meng (D-NY), and Gwen Moore (D-WI).