Equality PAC Statement on Gina Ortiz Jones First Place Finish in the Texas 23rd Primary

Washington, D.C. – Equality PAC, the political action committee founded by leaders of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus, released the following statement in response to Gina Ortiz Jones finishing the Democratic primary for the Texas 23rd Congressional District nearly 25 points ahead of her nearest opponent.

“Gina’s clear first place finish is a decisive statement that the people of the Texas 23rd are ready to embrace Gina’s vision in the general election,” said Equality PAC Chair Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA). “Gina’s lifetime commitment to defending our national values clearly resonated with the voters and we are confident her message of a more equal and fair country for all people will lead her to victory. Equality PAC was one of the first national organizations to endorse Gina, and we are ready to do everything we can to ensure she is elected.”

Jones was Equality PAC’s first non-incumbent endorsement of the 2018 cycle.

The purpose of Equality PAC is to work to bring nearer the full legal and societal equality of LGBT persons and creating a legislative environment that is conducive to that goal. The Board of Directors is chaired by Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA), who is a Co-Chair of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus; and board members Reps. Jared Polis (D-CO), David Cicilline (D-RI) and Mark Pocan (D-WI),also Caucus Co-Chairs; Reps. Dan Kildee (D-MI) and Joseph Kennedy, III (D-MA), Vice-Chairs of the Caucus; and Caucus members Reps. Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Elizabeth Esty (D-CT), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Grace Meng (D-NY), and Gwen Moore (D-WI).