Equality PAC Makes First 2018 Endorsement of a Non-Incumbent


Equality PAC Makes First 2018 Endorsement of a Non-Incumbent:
Gina Ortiz Jones (TX-23)

Washington, DC – Equality PAC, a political action committee formed by leaders of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus, announced today the PAC’s first endorsement of a non-incumbent candidate: Gina Ortiz Jones, who is running in the 23rd Congressional District of Texas.

“Gina Ortiz Jones is exactly the kind of candidate we need to gain a pro-equality majority in 2018,” said Equality PAC Chair Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA). “Gina bravely served our country in uniform under Don’t Ask Don’t Tell, and knows first hand the corrosive effect of anti-LGBT policies. Her voice and perspective will be an invaluable addition to not just debates on equality, but military readiness, national security, health care policy, and all the myriad issues members of Congress face every day. Equality PAC is proud to announce Gina as our first non-incumbent endorsement, a sign of how much faith we have in her and her campaign for Congress.”

“Talent is everywhere; opportunity is not,” said Jones. “I am excited to join with Equality PAC in working to fix that, and I am honored by their early endorsement. Representation matters now more than ever, and it’s important that we have a Congress that looks like America. I look forward to taking my lived experiences to Washington, and fighting to protect the opportunities of every American.”

Jones, a former Air Force intelligence officer, has dedicated her career to keeping this country safe. After serving the Air Force, which included a deployment in Iraq, Jones joined the Department of Defense’s Intelligence Agency, ultimately serving as special advisor to the deputy director.

Please contact Equality PAC at 202-656-3181 or [email protected] with press inquiries.

The purpose of Equality PAC is to work to bring nearer the full legal and societal equality of LGBT persons and creating a legislative environment that is conducive to that goal. The Board of Directors is chaired by Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA), who is a Co-Chair of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus; and board members Representatives Jared Polis (D-CO), David Cicilline (D-RI) and Mark Pocan (D-WI), also Caucus Co-Chairs; Representatives Dan Kildee (D-MI) and Joseph Kennedy, III (D-MA), Vice-Chairs of the Caucus; and Caucus members Representatives Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Elizabeth Esty (D-CT), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Grace Meng (D-NY), and Gwen Moore (D-WI).