Equality PAC Endorses Elizabeth Esty (CT-05)

Washington, DC – Equality PAC, a political action committee formed by leaders of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus, today announced its endorsement of Elizabeth Esty to be re-elected to represent Connecticut’s 5th Congressional District.

“Equality PAC is proud to endorse Elizabeth Esty for re-election,” Equality PAC Co-Chair Rep Jared Polis (CO-02) said. “Since long before she came to Congress, Elizabeth has championed efforts to stop discrimination against LGBT Americans in all aspects of life, whether at school, at the workplace, or in the armed services. Our community has celebrated many historic victories in recent years, but we have a long way to go. We need hardworking representatives like Elizabeth who won’t stop fighting for equality.”

“I’m honored to receive the endorsement of Equality PAC, a group dedicated to electing leaders who will fight hard for full equality for LGBT Americans,” Rep. Elizabeth Esty (CT-05) said. “I gave my first gay rights speech when I was in high school, and I’ve made ending discrimination against the LGBTQ community a top priority throughout my career. Last year’s marriage equality ruling was a historic victory for our nation — and a deeply personal victory for my family — but our work is far from finished. I’ll continue working with my colleagues in Congress to pass legislation ensuring that no American can be fired from their job, denied health care, deprived of an education, or evicted from their home simply because of who they are or whom they love.”

Please contact Equality PAC at 202-656-3181 or [email protected] with press inquiries.

The purpose of Equality PAC is to work to bring nearer the full legal and societal equality of LGBT persons and creating a legislative environment that is conducive to that goal. The Board of Directors includes Co-Chairs Representatives Jared Polis (D-CO) and Mark Takano (D-CA), who are also Co-Chairs of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus; and Board Members Representative David Cicilline (D-RI),also an LGBT Equality Caucus Co-Chair; Representative Dan Kildee (D-MI), a Vice-Chair of the Caucus; and Caucus members Representatives Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Elizabeth Esty (D-CT), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Joseph Kennedy, III (D-MA), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Grace Meng (D-NY), and Gwen Moore (D-WI).